Republishing/Restarting services after database connection password change

Jump to solution
08-01-2018 04:23 AM
Clint_Glover
New Contributor III

I currently have several database connections that are used in various MXDs that are used to publish my map and feature services.  I recently had to change the passwords for all of those database connections, and thus there is a need to update all of the layers in the MXDs with the updated data source information.  In this situation, once the layers in the MXDs are updated, will the web services need to be republished or simply just restarted?  I feel like the services would need to be republished for the changes to be reflected, but I've never done this before so I just wanted to make sure I was doing it correctly.  For reference, I am currently using ArcGIS Server 10.5.1 and my database connections are Oracle.

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
RandallWilliams
Esri Regular Contributor

Yes - Ideally, you'd have a script that can loop through a directory of map documents and update the workspace paths. Here's an example:

developer-support/python/arcpy-python/find-and-replace-data-sources-in-mxd at master · Esri/develope... 

View solution in original post

7 Replies
RandallWilliams
Esri Regular Contributor

Depending on the version you're working with, the tool you're looking for is 'Externalize Connection Strings'.

If you want the ability to update passwords in registered and managed database connections used by existing services, run the ExternalizeConnectionStrings.bat command utility to update existing service connections.

Register your data with ArcGIS Server using Manager—Documentation | ArcGIS Enterprise 

0 Kudos
Clint_Glover
New Contributor III