Help designing load test

02-23-2016 10:55 AM
SteveCole
Frequent Contributor

Our organization is experiencing issues with a service during periods of high demand. The service supports a flood warning system so those periods of high demand are sporadic so I'm looking towards using a load test with Apache JMeter to help us evaluate what we can do to better support our needs. I'm using this blog post and tutorial to help guide me and I've installed JMeter and have a test case set up. Since I'm new to this, I'm not sure if my parameters really mirror the real world so I'm posting to get some more experienced eyes on this.

Anyways, instead of a a map image export like in the tutorial, I'm just performing a simple "1=1" query on our particular map service. Our web map builds our stream gage layer on the fly at page load using this query based on a table in this particular service.

Below are a couple of screenshots from Google Analytics real-time view during our most recent events:

trafficExample01.jpgtrafficExample02.jpg

Based on this, I created a test with a thread of 40 users, a ramp up period of 20 seconds, and a loop count of 3. Does this sound reasonable, given the real-world examples shown above? Am I on the right track of way off?

Thanks!

Steve

0 Kudos
16 Replies
ThomasColson
MVP Frequent Contributor

I've had good luck with Jmeter. Instead of the 1=1 query plan, I'd add a csv element pre-populated with various zoom and extent levels, a wide range, and randomize zoom and extent with each query. Further more, I'd add a pan request. In this manner, you'll more accurately test what a real user does: Access the initial map view, then zoom and pan around. I've found rapid panning is what puts the most load on REST requests. To get really "real", add an identify query here and there. Zoom, pan, then click on something.

0 Kudos
ThomasColson
MVP Frequent Contributor