Geodatabase version permissions by user

10-27-2015 09:59 AM
PaulKroseman
Occasional Contributor II

Is it possible to grant/restrict which actions users can take against a version?

I would like a user to be able to reconcile and post to a version, but not directly edit on that version.

0 Kudos
16 Replies
ChrisDonohue__GISP
MVP Alum

Yes, I believe this can be done.  For example, in my current position I have permissions which allow Editing and Reconciling a Version, but not Posting.

Now as to the specifics on how to do this, the SDE experts will have to chime in....

Chris Donohue, GISP

0 Kudos
JoeBorgione
MVP Emeritus

(posted moments after Chris Donohue, GISP​ posted....  I'm no expert but I have been managing a versioned database since version 8.1)

From the 10.1 help:

• Private: Only the owner or the geodatabase administrator may view the version and modify versioned data or the version itself.
  • Protected: Any user may view the version, but only the owner or the geodatabase administrator may edit datasets in the version or the version itself.
  • Public: Any user may view the version. Any user who has been granted read/write (update, insert, and delete) permissions on datasets can modify datasets in the version.

I keep my 'edit version' as PUBLIC.  However, sde.default is PRIVATE.  If you have sde.default as Protected, some user will have it open and complain that they can't edit it.  You sure don't want sde.default as Public; that's asking for trouble.

Your request seems backwards; no edit privileges but reconcile and post permissions doesn't make sense to me.  I like to think of myself as a benevolent system administrator, but I draw the line when it comes to reconciling and posting changes.  That's my job. Period.

Just my $00.02....

That should just about do it....
0 Kudos
RebeccaStrauch__GISP
MVP Emeritus