Difference between Feature Service and Hosted Feature Layer?

10-14-2019 12:10 PM
Dr__BaluKarthikeyan
New Contributor

I am relatively new to the Esri technologies. My question is very simple.. What is the difference between the Feature Service and Hosted Feature Layer?

#feature service(s)‌, hosted feature layer 

0 Kudos
8 Replies
LeoLiu1
Occasional Contributor

Let me try:

1. Feature service is 'feature accessible' map service published on ArcGIS Server site.

The source of your data has to be a database.

2. While hosted feature layer is spatial data published to ArcGIS Online or Portal for ArcGIS. 

The source of your data can be: 

Details see: Publish hosted feature layers—Portal for ArcGIS | ArcGIS Enterprise 

BTW, of course you can publish your data from database through SDE connection by ArcGIS Desktop.

JoeCatanzarita1
Occasional Contributor II

Adding to the comment above:

• Feature Service: Feature services—Documentation | ArcGIS Enterprise 
    • "Feature services allow you to serve feature data and nonspatial tables over the Internet or your intranet. This makes your data available for use in web clients, desktop apps, and field apps".
    • "As the publisher of a feature service, you determine what functionality is available to the people who use the feature service, define the styling used when displaying the features, and define templates for editing data. When people access your feature service, they can view your data and the data associated with it through relationship classes. They can use your feature service in the maps and apps they create and, if you allow it, they can edit the data in the feature service".
    • "Feature services run on ArcGIS GIS Server sites".
  • Hosted Feature Layer: Hosted layers—Portal for ArcGIS | ArcGIS Enterprise