Adding an GPU to a Enterprise Deployment?

10-16-2023 08:54 AM
John_Davis709
New Contributor

Hello World,

I am relatively new to running an ArcGIS Enterprise Deployment (Windows 11.0) and working through selecting specifications for a migration to new hardware. Our current deployment cannot handle the demands of multiple heavy users and applications at the same time. This is likely down to old server hardware.

For our next deployment we are trying to see if there is any benefit to adding a dedicated graphics card to the server machine. The main benefit we hope to achieve is faster rendering of federated map image layers and feature layers. The main offender is an Experience Builder app with 20+ Feature Layers that is slow to draw and creates issues and slow downs for all users.

Has anyone used a dedicated GPU in there deployment and did you find any benefit? Is having a dedicated GPU beneficial to increasing web map and application speed and usability?

I am appetitive for any help!

Thanks,

John

3 Replies
MarceloMarques
Esri Regular Contributor

Documentation Links to help with this discussion.

Does higher power Graphics Processing Unit (GPU) improve the performance of ArcGIS Image Server?

https://support.esri.com/en-us/knowledge-base/faq-does-higher-power-graphics-processing-unit-gpu-imp...

ArcGIS Server 11.1 system requirements
https://enterprise.arcgis.com/en/system-requirements/latest/windows/arcgis-server-system-requirement...

ArcGIS Pro 3.1 system requirements
https://pro.arcgis.com/en/pro-app/latest/get-started/arcgis-pro-system-requirements.htm

| Marcelo Marques | Principal Product Engineer | Esri |
| Cloud & Database Administrator | OCP - Oracle Certified Professional |
I work with Enterprise Geodatabases since 1997.
“ I do not fear computers. I fear the lack of them." Isaac Isimov
ChadKopplin
Occasional Contributor III