Question about data store and registering db

01-30-2017 10:25 AM
travisslack1
New Contributor III

Hey there,

I am relatively new to portal and server and while I wait for ESRI support through email I thought i'd try to get some of my more simple questions answered.

So I have a SQL Server SDE database ~60gb in size (Portal/Server 10.4). Id like to publish some things to my server and I notice that when I do, it appears to copy the entire service file to the server which can get pretty large depending on the feature layer im publishing. 

Am I correct in thinking that If I register my SDE database with Portal that when I publish something to the server from that database it will only create a link to the DB vs copying the entire contents of the feature layer to the server? The idea is such that the Server will push live data where if I reconcile at the end of the day I don't need to update the service I published the day before.

Is this correct?

Thanks

Tags (3)
0 Kudos
6 Replies
AdamZiegler1
Esri Contributor

Hi Travis - great question, and an important one too. ArcGIS Server is absolutely set up to use an Enterprise Geodatabase. Your post hits on a few different topics, so I'll try to touch on the different methodologies you can deploy. First and foremost you need to register your enterprise geodatabase with ArcGIS Server. This makes AGS aware of the database and how it should connect. That said, you need to plan on how AGS connects to your database. If using windows authentication, then the account running AGS (in this case ideally a domain account) needs to be given access to the database. If you are using database accounts in your service, then database connections using those accounts (and potentially the version you with to connect to) need to be registered with AGS.