Select to view content in your preferred language

ArcGIS 10.4.0 for Desktop geoprocessing problems

02-02-2020 06:08 PM
IainWoxvold
New Contributor

Hello Community,

I've been having some problems using basic geoprocessing tools in my ArcGIS environment. The problem has been progressing over a few months -- initially basic Analysis Tool functions (e.g. clip, intersect, buffer) took a long time to run or took multiple attempts to produce a result, and now they routinely fail to produce a result at all. This can happen with or without the ArcMap is not responding message, and it occurs even when I create a new map documents with just the layers of interest. I'm self taught with GIS and am often using shapefiles. I'm running v 10.4.0.5524 on a machine with the following specs:

• Windows 10 Home
  • 2.6 GHz Intel Core i7-6700HQ processor
  • 16 GB RAM
  • 64-bit OS, x64-based processor
  • The files are held on a 462 GB local disk with 11.4 GB of free space

I've checked the system requirements -- they seem to be OK, and importantly, the problem was not an issue when I first bought the machine. It seems to have become worse with my recent annual renewal, though this could be a coincidence (?).

Any advice would be most appreciated as I'm lost without these basic analysis tools.

Thanks!

0 Kudos
2 Replies
MichaelVolz
Esteemed Contributor

Review ESRI documentation on the requirements for these gp tools.

Try creating a file geodatabase and importing your data into the file geodatabase.  Then process all the gp tools with the file geodatabase instead of shapefiles.