Using Data Expressions to make a distinct list

Jump to solution
11-29-2022 06:25 AM
KristineHubenig
New Contributor II

Hello!

I am new to Arcade and Data Expressions, I have been working on my expression and   testing ideas but  I can't seem to get anything to work. I'll explain what I am looking to do and an example of my script below.

I have a database with tons of records per person for different activities and I would like to make a list of the total counts of each activity per person.  I have in one field "PName" which contains the persons name, then another field "Group_Type" which contains 7 different groups, such as "Large Game", "Small Game", "Birds", "Fish", "Overnight Structures", "Plant and Earth Materials" and "Cultural Sites". I would like to use the data expressions to create a list in my dashboard for each person which contains the totals for each activity. So I could see something like:

Tim:

Fish: 23

Small Game: 4

Large Game: 7

and so on 

At first I just used groupby and only got the overall total per person, without the individual groupings. So then I tried to d a groupby and a distinct but I could not format it correctly to  see if it would work. Which leads me to where I currently am which is using filters. I have created multiple filters for each of the 7 categories and then groupby for each one. I figured the logic in my head worked but I am not sure about the actual arcade logic behind it, because I also cannot get it to run.  Yesterday I was getting errors for "Invalid Token" and "Invalid Parameter". Today when I go to test it out I am getting "g.charAt is not a function". But I do not believe I am using g.charAt anywhere in my script or what it is. If anyone can point me in the right direction that would be great! Or to tell me its not possible to do, then I can stop worrying about it!

var fs = FeatureSetByPortalItem(Portal('https://www.arcgis.com'),
'___________', 0, ['PName','Group_Type'], false);