how to use external data sources like SQL table or REST end point

Jump to solution
01-27-2021 05:05 AM
JayAppusamy
New Contributor

I'm new to dashboard, Can I access data from external data sources? for example

1. Database Table / View which is not registered with Geodatabase (Example: Employee or User table)
  2. Rest Endpoint (Example: OpenWeatherMap API)
0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
JakeSkinner
Esri Esteemed Contributor

@JayAppusamy,

1.  ArcGIS Dashboard won't be able to access data from a database table unless it's published as a service. ArcGIS Insights does have the ability to connect directly to a Database.  That may be an option you can explorer.

https://doc.arcgis.com/en/insights/latest/get-started/create-a-database-connection.htm

2.  If the REST Endpoint is added as an item to your Organization (i.e AGOL, ArcGIS Enteprise), or added to a web map, then it will be accessible in the Dashboard.

View solution in original post

4 Replies
JakeSkinner

@JayAppusamy,

1.  ArcGIS Dashboard won't be able to access data from a database table unless it's published as a service. ArcGIS Insights does have the ability to connect directly to a Database.  That may be an option you can explorer.

https://doc.arcgis.com/en/insights/latest/get-started/create-a-database-connection.htm

2.  If the REST Endpoint is added as an item to your Organization (i.e AGOL, ArcGIS Enteprise), or added to a web map, then it will be accessible in the Dashboard.

mikAMD
by
Occasional Contributor II

As an example, as @JakeSkinner pointed out, I added my API (json) to AGOL:

New item > URL > Type: GeoJSON > Add data and create a hosted feature layer

Then I was able to access this hosted table directly from Dashboard.

EDIT: