Empty results from data expression in Dashboard

Jump to solution
05-04-2022 04:03 PM
ElinorBrehmer_Österhult
New Contributor II

Hello!

I am new to data expressions in dashboard. I want to combine two columns from one layer, by dividing them with each other, but my code gives me no results. I also get no error message, it is just empty.

If anyone has an idea what is wrong with my code I am grateful to hear. Thanks in advance.

/Elinor

var fs = FeatureSetByPortalItem(Portal('https://www.arcgis.com'),
'1db5c1db1d2d44a985b2a2144f6c663f', 0,
["M3SK_HA", "M3SK_HA_Lov"], false)

var percentLov = {
'fields': [{'name':'Lovpercent', 'type':'esriFieldTypeDouble'},
],
'geometryType': '',
'features':
[{'attributes':
{'Lovpercent': 'M3SK_HA_Lov'/'M3SK_HA'
}}]};

return FeatureSet(Text(percentLov));

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
jcarlson
MVP Esteemed Contributor

If you check out the function reference pages, the GroupBy function returns a FeatureSet, which is why it's a great workaround.

The thing with Data Expressions is that, yes, they need to use a FeatureSet, but when you define them yourself, you need to add every feature one by one. Defining the FeatureSet's features array as you have in your expression would leave you with a single feature.

Think of it like this:

features: [
    // feature 1
    { attributes: {
         attribute1: value,
         attribute2: value
    }},
    // feature 2
    { attributes: {
         attribute1: value,
         attribute2: value
    }},
    ... // and so on, for every feature in the layer
]

Manually defining each feature is not realistic, so most Data Expressions will use a for loop to iterate over the input features. If you wanted to go that route, you've got a bit more you'll need to add.

var fs = FeatureSetByPortalItem(
    Portal('https://www.arcgis.com'),
    ["M3SK_HA", "M3SK_HA_Lov"],
    false
)

var out_dict = {
    fields: [
        {name:'Lovpercent', type:'esriFieldTypeDouble'},