Combine and replace values in a data expression?

01-14-2022 11:13 AM
natasha
New Contributor II

Hi! I'm working on a dashboard where I need to configure the data. My data contains a field with multiple number values. When decoded, more than one of the numbers represent the same text value:

Type

1 = Human

2 = Human

3 = Human

4 = Bird

5 = Bird

6 = Plant

7 = Plant

I'd like to decode the numbers or replace them with the strings they represent.

So I'd like to take my data from this:

RegionType_num
North4
South2
West7
North1
South5
East3
North3

to this:

RegionType_text
NorthBird
SouthHuman
WestPlant
NorthHuman
SouthBird
EastHuman
NorthHuman

I know I can use a data expression and create a new feature set. But I'm pretty new to data expressions and just not sure how to incorporate this into one and whether or how to use decode, replace, or another function.

Eventually, I'd like to get the count and percentage of each Type (using its text name) by region.

Thanks so much for your help!! 

0 Kudos
8 Replies
jcarlson
MVP Esteemed Contributor

There is a decode function. What context are you using this in? You could also use Arcade's Dashboard Formatting to simply decode that attribute, if it was for a list or something.

var codes = [
]

var decoded = []

for (var c in codes){
    var d = Decode(
        codes[c],
        1, 'human',
        2, 'human',
        3, 'human',
        4, 'bird',
        5, 'bird',
        6, 'plant',
        7, 'plant',
        ''
    )

Push(decoded, d)
}

return decoded

Returns

[ human , human , human , bird , bird , plant , plant ] 
- Josh Carlson
Kendall County GIS
0 Kudos
natasha
New Contributor II