Mass insert 3D model at preference point

Jump to solution
10-09-2012 01:37 AM
Thu_GiangDang
New Contributor
I have a layer of points, each with an unique ID. I have a file which maps the point ID to the building model's file name. What I want to do now is to write a rule file which takes the ID and produce the file name, then use i(file name) to insert the model at the points.

My questions are:
- is there any way to implement a hash function in cga grammar?
- is there any looping mechanism in cga?
- if it is impossible to achieve what I want using rule file, what are the other options I have?

I am new to City Engine, so please pardon my lack of knowledge. Thanks for your time.
0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
MatthiasBuehler1
Frequent Contributor
loading those attributes from a text file is possible with Python scripting, by parsing the file, reading the value, then setting the value as either object attribute or as a user set value.

[ Python scripting is available in CityEngine Advanced, not Basic. ]

ok ?

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
5 Replies
MatthiasBuehler1
Frequent Contributor
Hi !

The 'loop' you mention is done automatically by running a rule 'on all shapes', by using 1 rule on multiple shapes.

As you may have noticed, each attributed GIS point ('point feature') is converted to a tiny little shape.

Now if you have an ID for each building - which comes in as an Object Attr - you can use this ID string in a function to point CGA to the correct file.

Check Tutorial 3 !
http://video.arcgis.com/watch/1769/tutorial-3-map-control

e.g. like this. change to attr and asset names to your specific names.

[the code may contain errors. I did not check it.]

assetFinder(ID) =
    case ID == "abcd" : "assets/building_abcd.dae"
    case ID == "efgh" : "assets/building_edgh.dae"
    else: "builtin:cube"

attr BuildingID = "" # Point to Object Attribute with the actual ID info.

Lot -->
    alignScopeToAxes()
    s(0,0,0)