Create Layer of Attribedutes

02-04-2012 11:28 AM
josedonnelly
New Contributor
I'm a newbie stuck with a very newbie problem. I imported a shape file from Arc and was successful in keeping all attributes to the features. However the file lists all 16k and I need to organize them by an attribute (in this case which zoning district they're in) As I stated the all have kept their 'zoning' number, now I just need to organize them by each of those zones, so all the "01" of the 'zoning' attribute are kept together. I think I have to create essentially subfiles, so I should make my scene window looks like

-Scene Light
-Panorama
-All Parcels (16,028)

• Zoning 1

• Zoning 2

• Zoning 3

• etc

• etc

I'm racking my brain if this is right or if the other dozen methods using scripting and rules is the proper way. How do I create these subfiles? How do I select from my dozen attributes the attribute called "zoning" and then select them into "01" and "02" etc. I'm using Pro 2010.3 if it matters. After that I would like to select "stories" (aka height) and multiple it by 10 (10 feet per story)Thanks for any help that can be provided.
Tags (2)
0 Kudos
23 Replies
MatthiasBuehler1
Frequent Contributor
hi !

CityEngine handles data a little different than ArcGIS. e.g. there's no spreadsheet available which lets you sort all data.

--> you can 1 ] select shapes based on attributes
--> you can use CGA rules to distinguish the attributes for each footprint for the building generation.

for 1], start with the following docs :

selecting via attribute values : boolean expression in attribute layer
- check Manual > Map Layers > Selection via Image Maps
- check Manual > Mapping Attributes > Mapping Object Attributes via Layer Attribute

if you have questions here, let me know .. ok ?

for 2], create and assign a cga rule file to all shapes.

within the rule file, define an attr :
attr zoning = ""       # this is a string definition