Colorize the buildings and roofs from its attributes.

03-24-2015 12:46 AM
RushikeshPadsala
New Contributor II

Hi there. I have a gdb which contains, Multipatch LOD2 Buildings (in 3D), I have roof surfaces, trees, water and terrain. I want to colorize the Buildings and the roofs with the attributes stored inside it. For buildings, I want to colorize according to building type (Residential, Office etc). The field for landuse type is Land_Type. Similarly I want to color roofs, but all with the same color lets say light brown. Nothing needs to be extruded as everything is already in 3D. Please help me to write the rules, or any examples which has the similar rules. I am completely new to CityEngine. Please help. I use city engine 2014.1.

Thank You.

0 Kudos
17 Replies
by Anonymous User
Not applicable

Open a new rule file, and put this under the line with version:

attr Land_Type = ""   # This will connect to your object attribute from the GDB.

Shape --> # This is the start of a rule.

color(getColorByLandUse(Land_Type) # This calls the function below using your attribute.

# Expand this function using your land types, with colors in "hex color" format:

getColorByLandUse(landType) =

case landType == "Residential" : "#ff00ff"

case landType == "Office" : "#0000ff"

else: "#000000"

RushikeshPadsala
New Contributor II

Hi Chris Wilkins

That is really helpful. I have got two more queries if you could help me out.

1. I have a attribute field of Building Heights (Bldg_Ht) and I want to colorize it using color ramp. Is it possible in City Engine. Can you help me with an example of a rule with any random color ramp.

2. Is it possible to have a legend or any such alternative by which the person viewing this 3D scene will be able to know that this color belongs to what??? (Eg. if Residential are colored as red, then in legends, I should have a box with red color and a text saying as Residential).