CE City does not generate buildings when uploaded to Web Scene

Jump to solution
05-25-2013 06:39 PM
AdrianiColeman
New Contributor
Hello Everyone,

I keep on getting an error message when exporting my project to ArcGis online. It says 'unknown package'. 

I tried uploading the .3cws file thru ArcGis online and was successful.  However, none of my buildings are present on my map.  My snapshots are there, but nothing else.

I am working with CE as a teacher for a competition, and I am not a professional in this program by any means.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you in advance.
Tags (2)
0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
by Anonymous User
Not applicable
Ani,

What is happening is your scene file contains geometry in two very far apart locations. At the origin of the scene (0,0,0), there is a Wizard city, but then about 9 million meters away, your own design is located via its georeference. Since the scene contains geometries so far apart, it experiences an issue with the math behind the projection. I was able to export a web scene and see your buildings, but they flickered and distorted upon orbiting the camera. I believe this is similar to the wobble effect discussed here:
http://forums.arcgis.com/threads/59442-FBX-export-%28models%29-to-3DSMAX

To fix this, I created a new scene, then went to File>Import>Scene(.cej), selected your scene, and only imported the contents of your design, and deselected the layers containing the Wizard City (very important that no geometry from Wizard city comes into the new scene, or this won't work). This new scene exported to web scene fine, without the wobbling geometries, and all models showing.

Let me know if you are successful in recreating the scene, and if your new scene will export.

Main idea here is to start a new scene rather than importing georeferenced data into a Wizard City scene.

Best,
Chris

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
6 Replies
by Anonymous User
Not applicable
Ani,