Apply textures to facades based on building attributes

10-15-2014 09:16 AM
AishaPasha
New Contributor

Hi all, I'm just getting started with City Engine and am trying to apply textures to facades based on building attributes (i.e. brick, wood, stone etc.). Can anyone give an example of how to write the code for this? Thx.

0 Kudos
9 Replies
by Anonymous User
Not applicable

Put in your assets folder: (find attached CGA and Assets)

brick.jpg, wood.jpg, and stone.jpg

BrickWoodStone.cga:

version "2014.0"

const facadeDirectory = "assets/BrickWoodStone/"

attr buildingHeight = 10

@Range("brick", "wood", "stone")

attr facadeTexture = "brick"

attr textureScaleX = 4

attr textureScaleY = 4

BuildingFootprint -->

# Make footprint flat by scaling to zero in y direction.

s('1,0,'1)

# Make footprint into mass.

extrude(buildingHeight)

# Pop off sides and top.

comp(f) {top: Roof | side: Facade}

Roof -->

roofGable(30)

Facade -->

setupProjection(0, scope.xy, textureScaleX, textureScaleY)

projectUV(0)

texture(facadeDirectory + facadeTexture + ".jpg")

MatthiasBuehler
Occasional Contributor III

great help here, Chris !

Matt

Matthias Buehler

Head of 3D Technologies

twitter: @MattB3D

------------------------------

Garsdale Design Limited

matthias.buehler@garsdaledesign.co.uk

www.garsdaledesign.co.uk

AishaPasha
New Contributor

Great! Thanks for this. I was wondering though how exactly do I assign textures based on attributes already specified to the object? I have a set of historic building footprints that have information attached to them (height, # of stories, material etc) and I've been able to extrude them to correspond with their height, but I'm still not sure how to link textures to the given material.

0 Kudos
by Anonymous User
Not applicable