"Add Data" widget for AppStudio

07-10-2020 02:56 PM
RyanGay1
New Contributor

I am new to the coding world. And when I say new I mean I am just now taking classes. However I have been in the GIS game for a number of years. I am trying to build a native application with AppStudio but I am running into a snag. My app is simple enough. I just want to display a feature service with popups, but also I need it to have the ability to add data (zipped shapefile, KML or KMZ, etc.) so the user can overlay their data on top of the background data I am providing. I can do this all day long with the web app builder, but is there a tool or widget I can customize the Map Viewer template with or possibly another route? Thank you. 

0 Kudos
5 Replies
ErwinSoekianto
Esri Regular Contributor

Ryan, 

MapViewer template in AppStudio does not have "Add Data" functionality you described, but I know that working with KML file is supported in ArcGIS Runtime SDK for Qt‌, so this would be a customized version of the MapViewer template with functionality to select a file then use the KML file in the MapViewer template. 

Thank you,

Erwin

0 Kudos
RyanGay2
New Contributor III

Would I incorporate the code from "Display KML" into the MapViewer template?

0 Kudos
ErwinSoekianto
Esri Regular Contributor

The link you provided is pointing to ArcGIS Runtime SDK for .NET, we are using ArcGIS Runtime SDK for Qt. Also I think we recently add a sample called "Create, Edit and Save KML File", that is based on this sample from Runtime, Display KML | ArcGIS for Developers 

0 Kudos
RobStauder
Occasional Contributor

Hi Ryan,

Not sure if it's too late on this one but here's what I did for file based datasets (kml/kmz and shapefiles):

1. Use the DocumentDialog type. It's in beta and doesn't allow you to filter by file extensions (lol) -

FileInfo {
            id: fileInfo
        }
        DocumentDialog {
            id: fileDialog
            onAccepted: {