MapViewer or Quick Report?

12-22-2020 09:48 AM
GarrettRSmith
Occasional Contributor II

I am working on an app where we would like users to be able to both view features on a landscape while at the same time being able to capture the locations of new features. I have been working intermittently on this project for the past four months and have gotten no place and seem to always end up where I left off. Though touted as a plug-and-play solution to app development, the learning curve to deviate beyond the templates is far steeper than was initially advertised.

I have a deadline to complete the first draft of the project by mid-January and instead of spinning my wheels day-after-day getting nothing accomplished I am hoping for some actual guidance on how to make this app happen. 

Here are my roadblocks:

I like the MapViewer's Map Page and all the functionality that it entails, particularly the attribute pop ups, the ability to change basemaps, and the side panel with the legend. On the other hand, the QuickReport template contains all that I would need for the users to be able to capture a picture and the location of the features that we are trying to capture in the field. However, there is no dedicated map page, no attribute pop up, and no ability to change basemap.

My initial thought, when starting this project, was to take the MapViewer Map Page and integrate it into the QuickReport template. However, I have no idea where to start with this since there are also a host of control pages, images, etc... that will have to be transferred between the two. 

Now I am thinking that it might be better to copy the Refine Location page and create a dedicated map page within the QuickReport template. The issue there is that I do not understand how to make an attribute popup and/or give the page the ability to change basemaps. 

Of course, with both solutions, I will have to create a button from the QuickReport landing page to go to the new map page.