Link Menu Item to Website

05-03-2022 06:49 AM
JoshBillings
Occasional Contributor II

Hey all,

I am working with the Map Tour template in App Studio. I have created a new item in the menu and am wanting to link that menu item to a website URL.

Is there documentation available that can walk me through this? Or does anyone have an example they can share?

Thanks!

0 Kudos
5 Replies
DavidPuckett
Occasional Contributor

Check out Qt.openUrlExternally()

https://doc.qt.io/qt-5/qml-qtqml-qt.html#openUrlExternally-method

I'm using it successfully in a Text QML element like so:

DavidPuckett_0-1651598409530.png

JoshBillings

Thanks @DavidPuckett!

I would love to give this a go, but I think my biggest issue is figuring out how to correctly create the page/link and then how to link the menu item to the page/link. This may be more than can be described here as I am a newbie when it comes to programming.

0 Kudos
TrevorFrame
Esri Contributor

Hi @JoshBillings ,

When creating or editing a StoryMap, you can also simply add html to add a link to your story. It can look something like:

<a href="https://www.google.com" target="_blank" style="">Google Link</a>

Which would produce something like the below screenshots. 

Screen Shot 2022-05-11 at 2.12.07 PM.png

Screen Shot 2022-05-11 at 2.15.03 PM.png

Note, this approach would open the url link within the app and not launch default web browser apps. Hope this helps.

-Trevor 

0 Kudos
JoshBillings

Hey @TrevorFrame,

I appreciate the reply! I am using links in the StoryMaps, for sure.

What I am trying to do here is create a menu page similar to the "About the App" menu page. This new menu page would be a "News and Updates" page that links to a site that has all of our up to date information on it. I would like it to still open in the app and not a web browser.