Adding a filter

Jump to solution
10-10-2018 08:01 PM
ErinnHasselgren
New Contributor

Hi there,

What is the best way to add filter functionality (to limit a layer based on a particular attribute) to the MapViewer template? I found a few things in the Qt documentation, but I'm pretty new to development and was wondering if you have any suggestions or recommendations for how to accomplish this.

Thanks!

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
ErwinSoekianto
Esri Regular Contributor

Erinn, 

I see, now I understand a little bit more about what you are looking for. 

I have a different idea, that I think might be better and more make-sense. Are you using the "Graticules" panel? If you are not using the Graticules panel, we can re-purpose the panel to this, you can change the wording "Graticules" to Filter, and then the option in the Graticules panel from "None", "Lat/Long Grid", etc to "Beaches", "Boat Ramps", etc. 

And then when the user picks "Beaches", it would perform the filter instead of adding the Grid. 

What do you think? 

The content of Graticules panel can be found in MapViewer/views/GraticulesView.qml, the list of Grid can be modified in the model "mapView.gridListModel", and then the functionality that you need to change from assigning grid to mapView to do the custom filter would be at MapPage.qml around line ~2060

mapView.grid = ArcGISRuntimeEnvironment.createObject(currentItem.gridObject, {labelPosition: Enums.GridLabelPositionAllSides})

I hope this is helpful,

Erwin. 

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
4 Replies
ErwinSoekianto
Esri Regular Contributor

Errin, 

Can you be little more specific on where do you want to add the filter functionality? Screenshots would be helpful. 

And then hopefully we could point you to the specific qml file and component that you need to add the code to. 

Erwin

0 Kudos
ErinnHasselgren
New Contributor

Hi Erwin!