Select to view content in your preferred language

Silverlight4 &  Which .Net Framework to use????

04-19-2010 12:40 PM
AngelGonzalez
Frequent Contributor
Questions to you silverlight experts.  What .Net framework should I use to develop Silverlight4 app. in?

I created  a simple helloworld SL4 app and deployed it to a server and it blew up due to the fact my app. was targeting the .Net 4.0 and the server did not have it. I changed the framework to 3.5SP1 (which is on the server and it worked).  To take advantage of the new SL4 functionality and with the upcoming ESRI SL 2.0 version do I need the .Net 4.0 Framework or can everything be done in 3.5SP1 Framework?

Note, I am a beginner in SL  and just installed VS2010 on a test machine.

Thanks

Angel
0 Kudos
11 Replies
dotMorten_esri
Esri Notable Contributor
Silverlight runs on the client, and therefore you don't need the .NET Framework at all. All you require on the client is the Silverlight 4 runtime. However, if you generate an ASP.NET based website to host your silverlight application, the server will require whatever version that website is running on. Not that you don't need ASP.NET to host this website. All you need to be able to serve out is HTML, JavaScript and the .xap file.
0 Kudos
PatrickBrooke
Emerging Contributor
I found that I was best using .net 4 with VS 2010. When I installed VS 2010, I got net 4. Many of the .dlls that my .web  portion of the project is running are compiled at .net 4. It is just easier for me. I would suggest taking a look at which .dlls you will need to reference and see which is the lowest .net you need to run. I agree with Morten, most of Silverlight's .dlls will run on anything on 2.0 or above. It depends what you need. For me it is now .net 4.
0 Kudos
dotMorten_esri
Esri Notable Contributor
most of Silverlight's .dlls will run on anything on 2.0 or above