Python API: arcgis.mapping export_map() fails with Survey123 data

03-31-2021 08:48 AM
CassKalinski
Occasional Contributor

Context:
I am extracting data from a S123 survey to pass to an external application (an ERP system). All data ends up in an HTML container within the external application. The architecture requires using the arcgis modules of the Python API. AGOL only client. Part of the data extract includes taking the coordinates of each feature, creating a ‘postage stamp’ image of the location using a OSM basemap, then passing that jpg on for further processing. A webmap is created from the S123 feature layer and the arcgis export_map() function used to create the JPG. This is my first significant coding using the Python API and AGOL, though I have some limited experience with arcpy and the REST API within an on-prem, server based environment.

Problem:
I am able to access the feature data within the S123 instance, but the export_map() fails.

“Error executing tool. Export Web Map Task : Failed to create layer from service at https://<operational layer URL>/FeatureServer/0”

I have some indications it may be an authentication issue as the code works with a public webmap/feature layer I used for dev/testing. I can access the feature class/features in S123 with no issues, but not this export_map function.

Issues researched and addressed:

I feel like I must be missing some detail in either the JSON setup or the code context (e.g. authentication?). Maybe there is something off in the Survery123 setup? This was created by someone else as a test target for the overall development and is new to all of us. Or is the problem with our AGOL account setup for the printing service? 

Any suggestions on how to proceed on finding the cause of this error?

Code for the map export (to be placed within a function):

import json
from arcgis.gis import GIS
from arcgis.mapping import export_map

gis = GIS(PORTAL_URL, id, pw)
webmap_item = gis.content.get(WEB_MAP_ID)