Creating webmaps/apps with API for Python

01-15-2024 09:22 AM
Labels (3)
maya_fromstein
New Contributor III

Hello,

I am new to web programming (am experienced in R and familiar with python for data processing), so I apologize if this is basic or silly. I have gone in so many circles trying to figure this out on my own, so am hoping someone else wiser and more patient might be able to help!

The situation:

I am working with a software company who would like to integrate Esri web mapping into their offering for their clients. They don't plan on keeping a GIS person on staff long-term, so everything needs to be automated. Our desired end result would be that clients would select which fields they want mapped, and that would trigger a web map or app to be created and embedded in a website.
The possible combinations that we are thinking of now would be:
1. Fields from public data mapped and embedded into their private site,
2. and/or their private data mapped and embedded into their public facing website with pop-ups enabled  
For both options, we would like layers to be able to be turned off/on (though it could be okay if not for the first option).

From what I can understand, API for python is a great resource for scraping data, but I can only find resources for how to do that from public data. There seems to be a module for API for python and experience builder, but I can't find many resources about it or figure out how it actually creates a new EB and feeds data to it. There are so many amazing public health interactive maps that I know the python API was used for - but I can't figure out how they have all the features they do (pop-ups, interactive legends, etc) without the use of the Javascript SDK.

So, my question is: