What may cause TypeError: Point is not a constructor

Jump to solution
05-04-2020 01:18 PM
DaeYoon
New Contributor

Hi, I am new to esri api. I attempted to convert Point (x, y coordinates) into latitude and longitude in DMS via coordinatedFormatter. Something like below worked just fine.

<script>
    require([
      "esri/geometry/coordinateFormatter","esri/geometry/Point","esri/Graphic"
    ], function(coordinateFormatter,Point) {
      var x = -118.80657463861;
      var y = 34.0005930608889;

var point = new Point(x, y);
      console.log(`@@ point ${JSON.stringify(point)}`);

coordinateFormatter.load().then(function() {
        var latlon = coordinateFormatter.toLatitudeLongitude(point, "dms", 0);
        console.log(`translated to latitude and longitude ${JSON.stringify(latlon)}`);
      })

});
  </script>‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍

However when I tried to implement almost exact ^ logic into react + node.js environment. No matter what I tried, I was keep getting TypeError: Point is not a constructor error from console in chrome devtool. Here is the water down version of code.

import React from 'react';
import { loadModules } from 'esri-loader';

class Test extends React.Component {
  state = {     
    point: null,
    coordinateFormatter: null
  }

componentDidMount() {
    loadModules([      
      'esri/geometry/coordinateFormatter',
      'esri/geometry/Point'
    ])
      .then(([        
        Point
      ]) => {                        
        const testPoint = new Point(-118.80657463861, 34.0005930608889);
        this.setState({          
          point: testPoint      
        });
      })
      .catch((err) => {
        console.log(err);
      });
  }‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍