weak event system

12-12-2017 10:33 AM
yangwen
New Contributor III

I'm new to the arcGis JS API.

I'm trying to implement some fairly trivial and fundamental logic and came to the realization that there is a rather weak eventing system in the API.  I want to confirm my findings here.

In trying to implement a callback to trigger upon a zoom action, research led me to eventually find a sample code where extent changes are detected via a watcher on a MapView property.

From this example:  ArcGIS API for JavaScript Sandbox 

watchUtils.whenTrue(view, "stationary", function() {

// Get the new extent of the view only when view is stationary.
 if (view.extent) {

}

})

Really? An event as significant as zoom, drag are all inferred by watching the stationary flag?  

This article seems to confirm as such.  Disable all zooming on the view | ArcGIS API for JavaScript 4.5 

Or are there other APIs that I have missed? Thanks.

Tags (2)
0 Kudos
11 Replies
RobertScheitlin__GISP
MVP Emeritus

Yang,

You are not missing anything. The 4.x api uses very few events, but properties can be watched so it is no big deal. I initially had your same reaction but now that I am use to using watchUtils it is second nature now to just use properties for things that use to have events in 3.x.

ThomasSolow
Occasional Contributor III

You can watch any property that is an accessor property.  Most classes in the 4.XX JS API inherit from accessor (Accessor | API Reference | ArcGIS API for JavaScript 4.5 ), which allows properties to be watched.

Drag is different as it is a mouse event that can registered on a view.

https://codepen.io/solowt/pen/opNaXo?editors=1000 

esri/core/watchUtils is useful for more complex stuff than just watching for a property change.

Really? An event as significant as zoom, drag are all inferred by watching the stationary flag?  

I'm not sure what you mean by this.  If I wanted to watch zoom for changes I would use view.watch("zoom", callback);

0 Kudos
yangwen