Offset overlapping polylines with client-side graphics.

Jump to solution
05-14-2021 11:10 AM
rogenjh
New Contributor III

Hey Everyone -- 

Working from 4.18.

I have a new project requirement to map out polylines that represent circuits. The circuit graphics are created on the client side. They will all begin at one point and will shoot outwards from there.

My major issue is that I can have multiple circuits running the same track and multiple circuits that are smaller parts of one larger track. The beginning and end latitude and longitude are the same. Or, the beginning coordinates are the same, and the circuit follows the same track, but it does not run the entire distance.

After researching how to visually represent circuits, I found ESRI provides this idea to offset circuits that are overlapping. I would like to implement this idea for a POC.

I've found offset in the geometry engine (https://developers.arcgis.com/javascript/latest/api-reference/esri-geometry-geometryEngineAsync.html...) but I'm wondering if anyone has an example of this running properly?

Thanks so much!

Goal visual:

rogenjh_0-1621015228085.jpeg

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
KristianEkenes
Esri Regular Contributor

There's no need to use geometryEngine for this case. You can take advantage of CIMLineSymbol and offset the line symbol from the geometry. Here's a code pen that does this with a highway layer: https://codepen.io/kekenes/pen/eYgeVEB

The lines of note are here:

[5/14 2:37 PM] Kristian Ekenes

{​​​​​​​
  type: "cim",
  // CIM Line Symbol
  data: {​​​​​​​
    type: "CIMSymbolReference",
    symbol: {​​​​​​​
      type: "CIMLineSymbol",
      symbolLayers: [
        {​​​​​​​
          primitiveName: "highway",
          // white dashed layer at center of the line
          type: "CIMSolidStroke",
          effects: [
            {​​​​​​​
              type: "CIMGeometricEffectOffset",
              offset: 5,
              option: 0
            }​​​​​​​
          ]