Map2PDF PrintMap.js

01-24-2011 07:18 AM
AnnParker
New Contributor
I am a fairly new JSAPI programmer and I am trying to utilize the Map2PDF service in an application.  However it doesn't seem to be working completely.  I don't think I am calling the PrintMap.js function correctly as nothing is being returned for the layers parameter.  I keep receiving the error: "Invalid input json 'layers': A JSONObject text must begin with '{' at character 1 of   ." 

Any advice?
Thanks,
Ann
0 Kudos
8 Replies
MarcelKleinmann
New Contributor
Hi Ann,

It seems, as if your request parameter "layers" just contains a ".", instead of the layer urls. Perhaps try the whole thing this way:

I don't use the PrintMap.js, but the MapPrinter.js instead.

First I get the current http path of my own application and make a new instance of MapPrinter once in my init method, providing my esri.map and the path to the pdf directory of the application (line 1-4)

Later to generate a pdf print, I call the generatePdf method of MapPrinter, providing a pdf name (headline of the later pdf document), a ReportGenerator to use and an empty "params" string (line 6)

path = self.location.href;
pos = path.lastIndexOf('/');
path = path.substring(0,pos);
mapPrinter = new MapPrinter(map, (path+"/pdf"));

mapPrinter.generatePdf("pdfname", "SampleReport", "");

This works fine for me. Hope this helps,

Cheers
Marcello
0 Kudos
AnnParker
New Contributor
Marcello,
Thank you so much for your reply, I really appreciate your help.

Unfortunately it is still not working.  I took your advice and called MapPrinter.js instead.  I even looked at the sample.js which also used MapPrinter.js and is automatically installed with Map2PDF (and it works!) and tried to find what I'm doing wrong.  No luck.
The print button is now doing nothing and I have a browser error that says "Syntax Error; Line: 1; Char: 24"