Definition Expression Geometry

Jump to solution
10-17-2018 08:06 AM
ShawnRoberts1
Occasional Contributor

I apologize if this is a fairly simple question, I'm still learning the JS API. 

I have a feature class that I am dynamically setting altering the definition expression based on user input in a form. Ex by type of building, or size of building. I have also set it up so the user can create a temporary graphics layer to circle an area on the map, from there I would like to include that graphics layer geometry into the definition expression. Where I am struggling is how to pass that temporary geometry into the definition expression. 

I have a function that builds the def'n expression based on the inputs and I assume in there I would need to format it to add in the temp geometry I'm just not sure how that should look.

Any advice on how best to format a definition expression to take in a geometry would be greatly appreciated. 

Thanks,

Shawn.

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
RobertScheitlin__GISP
MVP Emeritus

Sean,

A layer definitionExpression is only for a string that represents a valid SQL statment. You can not use a geometry for a layers definition expression. The only way to possibly do this is to do a QueryTask using the geometry and use the executeForIds and then when you get that result you can build a SQL string from that to feed to the defintionExpression.

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
2 Replies
RobertScheitlin__GISP
MVP Emeritus

Sean,

A layer definitionExpression is only for a string that represents a valid SQL statment. You can not use a geometry for a layers definition expression. The only way to possibly do this is to do a QueryTask using the geometry and use the executeForIds and then when you get that result you can build a SQL string from that to feed to the defintionExpression.

0 Kudos
ShawnRoberts1
Occasional Contributor