Combing LiDAR data with 3D models

03-09-2021 01:01 PM
CaseySteffen
New Contributor II

Hello, I'm new to arcGIS and trying to prototype a demo. I've gotten so far as to import my LiDAR dataset and export out a Scene Viewer....which is great. seriously. 

The simple version of the prototype would be to combine a LiDAR dataset with a 3D models....possibly import from 3dsmax or create the 3D model inside arcGIS Pro....I'm just not certain if or how. The functionality doesn't seem to be self evident...so I'm wondering if its possible. Ideally, the points inside the 3D model could be tagged by color, but that's a "nice to have" feature for right now. 

Anybody have a solution I could try?

Tags (3)
0 Kudos
4 Replies
Tim_McGinnes
Occasional Contributor III

Is your lidar dataset already classified into ground, building, vegetation etc points? If not try the LAS Dataset toolset in 3D Analyst, once classified you can colour them by type - https://pro.arcgis.com/en/pro-app/latest/tool-reference/3d-analyst/an-overview-of-the-las-dataset-to... 

Once you have classified building points you can create building footprints and 3d multipatches. See the 3D Basemaps solution: https://doc.arcgis.com/en/arcgis-solutions/reference/use-3d-basemaps.htm 

To import 3D files (including 3DSMax) start with the Import 3D Files tool. You may need to locate the models in the correct real world position after importing them: https://pro.arcgis.com/en/pro-app/latest/tool-reference/3d-analyst/import-3d-files.htm 

0 Kudos
CaseySteffen
New Contributor II

Hi Tim, thanks for the reply. The Lidar is already classified. I'm going to investigate building footprints later. I did manage to get the 3D model imported.