Patching vs fixing in the Next Version

05-25-2018 06:54 AM
DavidJames
New Contributor III

Here is a note that I recently posted in the Case write-up for a bug we discovered in 10.6. The issue here regards how ESRI resolves issues in the software. In this case, a serious problem with the Lookup command forced us to develop a work-around for those users operating in the 10.6 environment. ESRI realized the critical nature of this bug and responded very quickly...they made the necessary changes and are implementing the fix in 10.6.1. As I note below, by failing to patch the flaw in 10.6, there is now a hole in the software that will remain in perpetuity. This 'Fix in the Next Version' causes me a lot of heartburn...as a developer, I do my best to respond to my clients needs for software that is stable and remains as bug free as possible. I would like to think that ESRI would feel the same. When a critical bug is identified, like this Lookup tool issue (and worse -- like deleting your C: drive [bug 000113996]), it is important not to let this problem remain in the software life cycle. Doing so robs the user of their expectations for reasonable stability in the use of the software. ESRI...please embrace a system where critical patches are resolved in the version of the software that they occur!!