table to domain: iterate through each file geodatabase

10-26-2011 11:17 AM
PeterWilson
Occasional Contributor III
I need to add an attribute domain to multiple file geodatabases, using the geprocessing tool "table to domain" for each file geodatabase wihtin a directory within subfolders. I've attached a print screen of the folder structure. Any assistance in being able to achieve this will be appreciated. Please note that I have very little experience in python.

Regards
Tags (2)
0 Kudos
9 Replies
JakeSkinner
Esri Esteemed Contributor
Hi Peter,

It may be easiest to do this using a python script rather than model builder.  Here is an example on how to do this.  The below script will iterate through each sub directory in your 'H:\Projects\H107039_PeterW\workpackages' workspace:

import arcpy, os
from arcpy import env

folder = r"H:\Projects\H107039_PeterW\workpackages"

for (path, dirs, files) in os.walk(folder):
    if ".gdb" not in path.lower():
            env.workspace = path
            databases = arcpy.ListWorkspaces("*", "FileGDB")
            for database in databases:
                arcpy.TableToDomain_management(r"C:\TEMP\Python\domain.dbf", "Code", "Desc", database, "City")

You will just need to update the line "arcpy.TableToDomain_management(r"C:\TEMP\Python\domain.dbf", "Code", "Desc", database[0], "City")".  The first variable is the path to the table containing the domain.  The second variable is the field containing the domain code.  Third variable is the field containing the domain description, and the 5th variable is what you would like to name the domain.
0 Kudos
PeterWilson
Hi Peter,

It may be easiest to do this using a python script rather than model builder.  Here is an example on how to do this.  The below script will iterate through each sub directory in your 'H:\Projects\H107039_PeterW\workpackages' workspace:

import arcpy, os
from arcpy import env

folder = r"H:\Projects\H107039_PeterW\workpackages"

env.workspace = path