Loop through selected features, works in Model Builder, but not in Python

08-14-2011 01:33 AM
RomySchroeder
New Contributor
Hi,

I have problems to get a loop for selected features running in Python. I built a workflow in Model Builder and exported the script to python. But in Python I get an error message if I try to run it. It says: Python cannot open a toolbox... I get the feeling that the function "iterateFeatureSelection_mb" does not work in py. I could not find it in the Desktop Help, too.
Could someone have a look on this. I am new to Python and don´t know how to write this as a loop.
Thank you!
Posted the code below and attached the model from Model Builder as an image.

import arcpy
# Load required toolboxes
arcpy.ImportToolbox("Model Functions")

# Local variables:
Solarpot_PotsdamPVend = "Solarpot_PotsdamPVend"
DSM_inside_PV_Punkt = "D:\\UniGIS\\MT\\Daten\\Bearbeitung\\MT_Scratch.gdb\\DSM_inside_PV_Punkt"
Geb_Geb_ID = "I_Solarpot_PotsdamPVend"
Punkt_inGeb__Geb_ID_ = "D:\\UniGIS\\MT\\Daten\\Bearbeitung\\MT_scratch.gdb\\Punkt_inGeb_%Geb_ID%"

# Process: Iterate Feature Selection
arcpy.IterateFeatureSelection_mb(Solarpot_PotsdamPVend, "", "false")
# Process: Clip
arcpy.Clip_analysis(DSM_inside_PV_Punkt, Geb_Geb_ID, Punkt_inGeb__Geb_ID_, "")
Tags (2)
0 Kudos
9 Replies
StacyRendall1
Occasional Contributor III
Yeah, the export to Python thing is rubbish... The reason you get the error is that 'Model Functions' is not something Python can import, and I think Iterate Feature Selection is part of that toolbox that cannot be imported (the _mb implies it is part of the Model Builder tools). Iteration in Python is done with a for loop. For example:
for x in range(4):
    print(x)

would output:
>>>

Python can also iterate over structures called Lists (documentation), which are represented by items within square brackets, i.e. [1,2,3].