Select to view content in your preferred language

iteration

05-31-2014 09:47 AM
BadenCross
Emerging Contributor
I am new to modelbuilder and am trying to convert many USGS dems to raster using the iteration process but not having any luck, having tried variables, wildcards etc.

I am used to using Script language so maybe my head is stuck in that logic and can't get the'flow' of the modelbuilder process arranged properly

any help with this would be appreciated

cheers

Baden
0 Kudos
8 Replies
CPoynter
Frequent Contributor
Wrote this quickly, but try:

import arcpy, os
from arcpy import env

env.workspace = r"<your workspace>"

for dem_file in arcpy.ListFiles('*.DEM'):

dem, ext = os.path.splitext(dem_file)

print dem_file
 print dem

arcpy.DEMToRaster_conversion(env.workspace + dem_file, env.workspace + "\\output\\" + dem + ".tif", "FLOAT", 1)

Iterators added within ModelBuilder can only be run in ModelBuilder itself.

Regards,

Craig
0 Kudos
BadenCross
Emerging Contributor
Thanks Craig, I was hoping to just work within Modelbuilder. The code you indicated looks like another learning curve beyond the old 'script' language I programmmed with in ArcView........
0 Kudos
IanMurray
Honored Contributor
Baden if you could post your model thus far, and a screenshot on what inputs you are using on your iterator, that would be helpful.

Also all your raster need to be in the same folder, or if they are in subfolders, you need to select a parent folder in which they are located, and select the recursive option so it will iterate through all subfolders.

Your iterator should be at the beginning of the model, with the folder that contains the rasters being the input.  the output "Raster" from that should then be the input of the DEM to Raster tool. 

Hope this helps.
0 Kudos
BadenCross
Emerging Contributor