Select to view content in your preferred language

Model Builder - Calculate Field (Area)

04-18-2014 12:08 PM
MilenaK
Emerging Contributor
Hello,

I'm a totally newbie to Python and have problems to calculate the area of an input feature in my model (model builder).
I use the "Calculate Value" function to calculate the area (in square kilometers or meters) of an input feature (either a raster or a vector feature - should both work?).

I found out that it works like that: !shape.area@squarekilometers!

I have my forumla in the expression block like x/200 and want to calculate the area of myFeature represented by x.
My code block is the following: x = !myFeature.area@squarekilometers!
I also tried the following: x = !%myFeature%.area@squarekilometers!

But I always get an error (ERROR 000989 Python syntax error: Parsing error SyntaxError: invalid syntax (line 1)).

Does anyone know what I'm doing wrong?

Thank you!
Tags (2)
0 Kudos
3 Replies
T__WayneWhitley
Honored Contributor
I've attached a zip file (Toolbox.zip) that should contain a 10.2.x toolbox (Toolbox.tbx) with a contained model (ingeniously named 'Model') - this model contains a Calculate Value tool with the corrected snippet...see further notes below.

- !shape.area@squarekilometers! is for the field calculator or the Calculate Field tool...
- For use with your tool, Calculate Value, the 'SHAPE@' token was used to return geometry with the da search cursor; area in your desired units was returned via the arcpy 'getArea' method.  The code block:
def getArea(features):
     areaTotal = sum([row[0].getArea('PLANAR', 'SQUAREKILOMETERS') for row in arcpy.da.SearchCursor(features, ['SHAPE@'])])
     return "%s %s" % (areaTotal, 'Square Kilometers')

- ...and the 'expression' calling the 'getArea' function (notice the proper use of inline variable substitution, where 'myFeatures' is a model parameter [feature layer type] by that name):
getArea("%myFeatures%")

Wayne
0 Kudos
MilenaK
Emerging Contributor