Python add in- update two fields in one feature based on same fields of another

Jump to solution
04-14-2014 11:10 AM
AndrewMosley
New Contributor
I'm totally new to making add ins and quite novice at python itself but I have a script that executes perfectly as a script tool or simply in the python window of ArcMap. I want to make this a quick button click so I looked into making an add-in toolbar with a button.

Just to get the hang of making the addin i made a print "Hello World!" that works as expected.

However, it seems something is going wrong with my code when put into the add-in. I can only assume I'm missing some syntax due to my inexperience with python.

The situation here is I have a percels layer and an address points layer, which both contain a PIN and TMS number. I simply want to have the function select the address points within the parcel geometry, find the value of PIN and TMS from the parcel layer's attribute table, and update the same fields in the address points' attribute table. Again, the script I've written executes perfectly inside the python console in ArcMap but not as an add-in. Thanks for any hints you all might have!

So here's what I've got: