Select to view content in your preferred language

Problem with near analysis within an update cursor for loop

Jump to solution
02-10-2014 10:04 AM
JohnBowers
Deactivated User
I am new to python and trying to create a script that will help individuate trees from a LiDAR point cloud.  

I'm starting with a point feature class of LiDAR returns and using it as a template for another point feature class for spatial comparison.  An update cursor is then created for the initial feature class and a variable declared as zero to assign a tree ID number.  Using a for loop, each row is assigned a tree ID number based on the results of a near analysis(proximity toolset).  The row is assigned a unique tree number(if no near feature was found) or given the tree ID number of the near feature(if one was returned by the near analysis).  Then a copy of the current row is inserted into the comparison feature class and the loop iterates again until all features have been assigned a tree ID number.

That's the concept, but at the moment my script will simply assign every row a unique tree ID number rather than several rows sharing tree ID numbers.  Here is what my script looks like now:

#import required modules
import arcpy
from arcpy import env

#specify workspace
env.workspace = "C:/Columbus_OH_LiDAR_2011/Canopy.gdb"

#specify source geometry
points = "C:/Columbus_OH_LiDAR_2011/Canopy.gdb/Extract_BS868661"

#create comparison geometry feature class
ind_trees = arcpy.CreateFeatureclass_management(env.workspace, "ind_trees", "POINT", points, "DISABLED", "SAME_AS_TEMPLATE", points)

#create update cursor
Ucur = arcpy.updateCursor(points, "", "", "", "HEIGHT D")

#declare variable used to assign tree ID number
x = 0

for row_u in Ucur:

[INDENT]#find nearest feature within a search distance[/INDENT]
[INDENT]arcpy.Near_analysis(points, ind_trees, row_u.HEIGHT / 4)[/INDENT]

[INDENT]#tree ID assigned where no near feature was found[/INDENT]
[INDENT]if row_u.NEAR_FID == -1:[/INDENT]