PYTHON CODE TO CHANGE DASH VALUES TO DEGREE MINUTE SECOND

Jump to solution
01-02-2014 04:19 PM
SaniTakwim
New Contributor
I'm a novice in programming and would appreciate if somebody can provide me with a Python code that can convert the values in my cogo "Direction" field in the "180-0-0" format to the degree minute second format so that I can used the labels when printing out my traverse map. TQ.

Sani
Tags (2)
0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
T__WayneWhitley
Frequent Contributor
Sounds to me you are almost there - your statement that the seconds character returned a '?' simply means this Unicode character didn't get resolved.  Are you working with a shapefile?...if so, Unicode support is weak -- work with a file gdb if you can.

Also, if running test successive calculations, make sure you set the text you're converting back to what the function is expecting (xx-xx-xx).

Note that you can also mimic the minutes (prime) and seconds (double prime) characters with single quote and double quote -- labeling with this calculation result at a small scale will work fine, so again, check your initial field values and use the Python calc function - I think this will work okay with the quote characters for min and sec:
def calc(val):     val = val.split('-')     return u'%s\u00B0 %s\' %s"' % tuple(val)

Hope that helps - note that behavior via the field calculator is not guaranteed...the following is the testing of output via IDLE, notice the subtle difference in the symbols - this likely makes no aesthetic difference in labeling for you: