Advice/help needed

10-05-2013 02:20 PM
TateM
by
New Contributor III
Hello All,

I would like y'all advice and help, as I'm still new at this. What I'm trying to do is to create a python script that go to a particular SQL Server grab the data --> then using arcpy create a point feature class --> then puts in a SDE Geodatabase (different server). 

Steps:
1. import pyodbc to connect to the SQL Server, query out the data.
2. use Arcpy to create point feature class.
3. connect to SDE Geodatabase in a different Server then copy the point feature class into the Geodatabase.

This workflow seems to be correct? Thanks!
Tags (2)
0 Kudos
5 Replies
TateM
by
New Contributor III
so far I got this is what I've got.

import pyodbc, arcpy
cnxn = pyodbc.connect(trusted_connection='yes', driver='(SQL Server)', server = 'abcserver', database='TEST')
cursor = cnxn.cursor()
try:
    query = " SELECT surflat, surflong FROM table1
    cursor.execute(query)
    cnxn.commit()
except:
    print "error"

And I think the next step is to use the  arcpy.MakeXYEventLayer_management --> arcpy.CopyFeatures_management into the SDE database.  Any pointers on how to do this?  TIA
0 Kudos
MathewCoyle
Frequent Contributor
After you get your data from your source, I think the easiest next step would be to use an insert cursor. Either directly into your SDE feature class or into a temp in memory feature class to then upload to SDE.

See the last example in this help page for inserting geometry. It is a little easier than depicted since you are only inserting point geometry.
http://resources.arcgis.com/en/help/main/10.1/index.html#//018w0000000t000000
0 Kudos
TateM
by
New Contributor III
After you get your data from your source, I think the easiest next step would be to use an insert cursor. Either directly into your SDE feature class or into a temp in memory feature class to then upload to SDE.