Loop through features and create euclidean distance raster per feature

Jump to solution
08-07-2013 08:27 AM
KarenHornigold
New Contributor
Hi,

I am completely new to Python, but need to turn to it due to the nature of my research.

I have a point shapefile with 45,000 points ('visits') spread across the UK and I want to obtain a euclidean distance raster (with a cut off of say 100km).

I know the tool I need to use to create the distance raster is Euclidean Distance, but I need to iteratively select each point (by 'visitID') from the shapefile and create a distance raster for each one in turn.

Can anyone direct me to useful resources or share their scripting wisdom?

Thank you in advance!
Tags (2)
0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
by Anonymous User
Not applicable
I actually only need the ascii file as I can read this into R where I am doing my analysis.

WOW! That is good news...Well you can eliminate the last part then!  The way I wrote that is to have it delete the ascii files after the conversion...I have eliminated the convert ascii to raster so you will just have ascii files.  This will probably do all 45k points in a few short hours.

I have just attached a new toolbox, this one has 2 tools...The first one is the tool that converts each ascii to raster...You do not want to use this one. Use the (ascii) one. This will just write out ascii files and not convert to raster...These ascii files can still be used in ArcMap...If you pull them in they will be projected properly.

So if you use the (ascii) tool, it will hopefully be done before you leave the office today on all 45K points!  I usually do not spend this much time working on a problem I find on the forums, but this one really interested me.  I think this tool is useful.  Let me know how it works for you!