Loading a KML file to a web map in AGOL, Is it possible?

Jump to solution
07-28-2013 10:16 AM
MiguelParedes
Esri Contributor
Greetings all, AGOL fans.

I'm completely new to using KML, so please bare with me if what I'm asking is "Silly".

I have a couple of KML files (.kml) that I would like to load to a web map.  However, there is a catch:
I don't want to add the KML file to My Content using Add Item, or any other method.

Is this is my own file, could I add it to a location in my own web server, and then add it to the web map using "Add > Add Layer from Web"?

Besides the Web Server method above, is there any other way of adding a KML file to a web map?

Many thanks in advance.
Miguel
Tags (2)
0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
MikeMinami
Esri Notable Contributor
To access your internal server, the browser doesn't need to send any requests to ArcGIS Online. Because the browser is running inside your firewall, the URL to the service will be valid. The web browser sends requests directly to your server. As an analogy, you might have an internal employee website that you can view while you are at work. This site is visible to you because your computer and browser are within the company network. But, you can't see this internal website from home, unless you connect to your network (e.g., VPN).

However, drawing KML files requires a request to be sent to ArcGIS Online to parse the KML and return it to the browser in a form that is suitable for the map. Thus, ArcGIS Online needs to read the KML, which it can't do when it's behind a firewall.

Thanks,

Mike

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
7 Replies
TimWitt
Frequent Contributor
Hey Miguel,

There are no silly questions only silly answers 😉

Take a look here: http://resources.arcgis.com/en/help/arcgisonline/index.html#/About_KML/010q00000066000000/

Maybe this will answer your questions!

If my post was helpful please rate it or mark it as answer, thanks!

Tim
0 Kudos
BondHarper
Occasional Contributor II