AnsweredAssumed Answered

Select Layer by Location not providing correct result.

Question asked by dswhitney77 on Feb 12, 2013
Latest reply on Apr 4, 2013 by dswhitney77
I sought assistance with a portion of this code earlier. I have added an additional step, which to me would seem pretty simple, but I am still learning the ups & downs of Python.

My script creates data driven pages. I use a list to populate a layer definition query to run a specific township. Now I am trying to do a selection (SelectLayerByLocation) to only find the townships where there is data. I first just added the SelectLayerByLocation command. Did not work. With further reading, it looked like I needed to run a MakeFeatureLayer on the two sets of data involved in the selection. Still did not work. Do I need to use cursors or is the answer much simpler?

I do not have any error messages. I have added try/except to see if I can find additional information on what is happening with my script. The data exports just fine, but there are maps that do not have any data.
Thank you for any guidance.