problems with publishing a map service; cannot get to service editor

10-30-2012 11:36 AM
SarahBarr
New Contributor
Hello,

I am new to ArcGIS Server. I am trying to publish a map service to ArcGIS Server 10.1. I have connected to our ArcGIS Server through ArcCatalog, and registered the data (a file gdb) I am using. (I had to place a copy of the data on our Server). I have publisher permissions and I set read/write permissions for the gdb in Windows Explorer. So from the MXD I choose Share As>Map Service>Publish a Service>I choose my connection and a name for the service>I use the default folder, and then I click Continue. Then nothing happens. According to the tutorials, I should see the Service Editor window and see the Map Service in ArcCatalog, and I see nothing. I get no error message. I do not see the map service listed in ArcCatalog or in ArcGIS Server Manager.

Could someone help?

Thanks.
Sarah
Tags (2)
0 Kudos
6 Replies
AlexeyTereshenkov
Regular Contributor III
Hi Sarah,

I've seen this behaviour a couple of times. Restarting the ArcGIS Server Windows service and restarting the ArcMap usually helped. After having this done, start simple just to make sure you are able to get the Service Editor by authoring a new very simple map document accessing data locally in ArcMap and then publishing it.
0 Kudos
SarahBarr
New Contributor
Hi Sarah,

I've seen this behaviour a couple of times. Restarting the ArcGIS Server Windows service and restarting the ArcMap usually helped. After having this done, start simple just to make sure you are able to get the Service Editor by authoring a new very simple map document accessing data locally in ArcMap and then publishing it.