Launch python toolbox from toolbar: can it be done?

Jump to solution
10-17-2012 07:18 AM
deleted-user-zpcJw1u0IXiO
Occasional Contributor
I need to put a button on a toolbar to launch my new python toolbox tool that maps condos. I have found this to be impossible, and am hoping for help...

I've tried building an add-in to launch the pyt, but in testing it I get a pop-up error "Failed to open toolbox Condos.pyt". Perhaps this means add-ins simply do not support python toolboxes, or maybe I've incorrectly specified the path in the add-in's onClick def:

toolboxPath = os.path.join(os.path.dirname(__file__), toolboxName + ".pyt")

The reason I'm uncertain about the path is that the pyt is in "My Toolboxes", and I don't know whether this code actually points there (I'm very new to python). Or maybe a pyt is merely incompatible here, because the example code has ".tbx" in the above line. Any ideas?

To re-write my pyt as a regular python script in a tbx and set up params that way has certainly occurred to me and would probably work, but would be a huge disappointment given the time invested in the pyt that works so nicely. How can I launch from a toolbar button the CondoBuilderTool of Condos.pyt? Is that even possible? Please help me with some suggestions here. How can I resolve this?

Thanks in advance,
Justin
Tags (2)
0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
AndrewChapkowski
Esri Regular Contributor
The .pyt files need to be placed in the install folder of the python add-in, and the makeaddin.py file needs to be re-run.

After that, you can then re-install the add-in by double clicking on the file.

Also, ensure that you close and restart arcmap or catalog.

Andrew

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
4 Replies
AndrewChapkowski
Esri Regular Contributor
You need to call the class name for a .pyt.  So I have a python tool called 'Tool', so I pass in Tool to the name parameter.
        relPath = os.path.dirname(__file__)