vbScript Help

08-14-2012 12:53 PM
DuaneDubey
New Contributor
Hello,

I'm new to ArcGIS.  I have a vbscript that was written for 9.3 that I need to convert to run on 10.1.  I keep getting an unspecified error on the second statement.  I think the problem is with the dbf file but I'm not sure how to resolve the issue.

set gp = CreateObject("esriGeoprocessing.GPDispatch.1")

gp.TableSelect_analysis "Database Connections\\Chancery.odc\\dbo.CDM_ARCCHANCERY2", "C:\\ArcProcessing\\IMP_ARC_CHANCERY.dbf", "Id > 0"

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

Dan
Tags (2)
0 Kudos
2 Replies
curtvprice
MVP Esteemed Contributor
Hello,

I'm new to ArcGIS.  I have a vbscript that was written for 9.3 that I need to convert to run on 10.1. 

set gp = CreateObject("esriGeoprocessing.GPDispatch.1")

gp.TableSelect_analysis "Database Connections\\Chancery.odc\\dbo.CDM_ARCCHANCERY2", "C:\\ArcProcessing\\IMP_ARC_CHANCERY.dbf", "Id > 0"

I highly recommend doing this using Python instead. The old GPDispatch interface is poorly supported if at all.

import arcpy
arcpy.TableSelect_analysis(\
    "Database Connections\\Chancery.odc\\dbo.CDM_ARCCHANCERY2", 
    "C:\\ArcProcessing\\IMP_ARC_CHANCERY.dbf", "Id > 0")

But, you should perhaps try simply running the Table Select tool interactively first to make sure the database connection is set up correctly.
0 Kudos
DuaneDubey
New Contributor
I highly recommend doing this using Python instead. The old GPDispatch interface is poorly supported if at all.

import arcpy
arcpy.TableSelect_analysis(\
    "Database Connections\\Chancery.odc\\dbo.CDM_ARCCHANCERY2", 
    "C:\\ArcProcessing\\IMP_ARC_CHANCERY.dbf", "Id > 0")

But, you should perhaps try simply running the Table Select tool interactively first to make sure the database connection is set up correctly.

Curtis,