IBufferConstruction.ConstructBuffersByDistances2 - Memory Read/Write Error

08-14-2012 04:35 AM
JosephKnieriem
New Contributor
I have a polyline layer that needs to be buffered a specific direction (left or right of the line) and a specific distance.  The polyline layer has fields in the attribute table that define each of these criteria for each feature.  Buffers generally range from 12-35 feet. After the variable buffers are created, I need all overlapping sections to be dissolved.  I figured the IBufferConstruction.ConstructBuffersByDistances2() method was the way to go, but I haven't found any working samples out there that use this method.

The help page for the method here: ConstructBuffersByDistances2() says

[INDENT]If you wish to apply a different buffer distance to each input geometry, you can use the ConstructBuffersByDistances2 method, which requires that inputs and outputs be staged in memory first[/INDENT]

I'm fairly new to C# and ArcObjects in general, so I'm guessing this is where my problem lies and I don't know how to fix it!  The feature cursor loop fills out the GeometryBag and DoubleArray properly.  When it gets to the final line of code though, it generates the error message: "Attempted to read or write protected memory". 

The other option, according to the help, would be to implement the IGeometricBufferSourceSink interface.  I couldn't find any code examples of that either.  Any help would be appreciated!

IGeometryCollection lineGeoBagColl = new GeometryBagClass();
                IDoubleArray pDoubleArray = new DoubleArrayClass();
                IFeatureCursor _lineFCursor = _inputLineLayer.Search(null, false);                
                IGeometryCollection pOutputGeoColl = new GeometryBagClass();
                IFeature _Feat = _lineFCursor.NextFeature();

using (ESRI.ArcGIS.ADF.ComReleaser comReleaser = new ComReleaser())
                {

do
                    {
                        comReleaser.ManageLifetime(_lineFCursor);