Better way to do an UpdateCursor on several fields??

08-01-2012 04:46 PM
JoelThomas
New Contributor II
Hello - I am trying to query a field(type-double) called "STATUS" and where there are "0's in that field, I want to update another field called "HAZ_STATUS"(type-text). So this might not be the best method, not sure, but it works. My question is, if I had to do this for another 15 fields, would I have to insert this code 15 times, or is there a better method? Also, I would update "STATUS" directly, but the field type is "double", and I want to update it with "text". So creating a new field with a new field type is the only solution, right?

I appreciate any comments - I'm pretty new at this..

fldName6 = "HAZ_STATUS"
inFeatures = os.getcwd() + '\\''myMDB.mdb\\myFC'
query = '[STATUS] = 0'
rows = arcpy.UpdateCursor(inFeatures, query)
row = rows.next()
while row:
    row.setValue(fldName6, "No Violations")
    rows.UpdateRow(row)
    row = rows.next()
del row, rows
Tags (2)
0 Kudos
4 Replies
JohnCobb1
New Contributor
I'd just use IF statements. Row objects have the fields as attributes, so you can use row.FIELD to clarify your code.

inFeatures = os.getcwd() + '\\''myMDB.mdb\\myFC'

row = None
uc = arcpy.UpdateCursor(inFeatures):
for row in uc
    if row.STATUS == 0:
        row.HAZ_STATUS = "No Violations"
#    if row.OTHERFIELD == X:
#        row.HAZ_OTHER = 'Some Text'
    uc.updateRow(row)
del uc, row
0 Kudos
markdenil
Occasional Contributor III
You should use a query in the cursor definition only to resrict the rows in the cursor. Which ideed seems to be what you want to do in the situation that you report works.

What exactly you mean by "do this for another 15 fields", however, is not clear.
Do you want to set another 15 field values based on the the fact that [STATUS] = 0?
Or do you want to test another 15 fields beside [STATUS]?

If the first, you can just add lines setting the value of each field to the existing setValue,
then fire the updateRow.