Points Within a view

06-06-2012 12:38 PM
WilliamIde
New Contributor II
I am fairly new to python.  But I have been asked to write a tool that will allow the user to pan to a specific location and hit a button that creates a PDF of the view as well as showing the attribute values from a layer
in the view.  I can create the PDF of the view no problem.  I am have difficulty with selecting and outputting the points from the layer.
newinputfile ="mypointfile"

arcpy.env.overwriteOutput = true

definput = arcpy.GetParameterAsText(0)

if definput == '#" or not definput":
 definput = newinputfile;
 env.workspace = "d:/Myprojects/DefWorkspace/projdata.gdb"

arcpy.AddMessage("starting")

mxd = arcpy.mapping.MapDocument("CURRENT")

layers = arcpy.mapping.ListLayers(mxd)

for layer in layers:
 if layer.longName == newinputfile:
 arcpy.addMessage("found layer")
# here is where I lose it
 arcpy.SelectLayerByLocation_management( ???, ???  

arcpy.mapping.ExportToPDF(mxd,"outputPDF")

# somehow add the selected point attributes the PDF

#Done.

Thanks  for looking
Tags (2)
0 Kudos
5 Replies
NobbirAhmed
Esri Regular Contributor
Could you please show the full statement for this line?

arcpy.SelectLayerByLocation_management( ???, ???  ....)

Another question, what do you mean by 'point attributes' when you say
".... add the selected point attributes to the PDF.."?

Assuming, by "attributes" you mean the point features themselves, I suggest use these steps before exporting to PDF:

# assuming you have only one data frame
df = arcpy.mapping.ListDataFrames(mxd)[0]

df.zoomToSelectedFeatures()

# clear selection - otherwise, the PDF will contain selection color 
arcpy.SelectLayerByAttribute_management("state_centroids", "CLEAR_SELECTION")
0 Kudos
WilliamIde
New Contributor II
That's just it. I don't know what parameters to use in the SelectByLocation.

I will try the df code and get back to you.
0 Kudos
WilliamIde
New Contributor II
I added the: