IndexError: list index out of range

Jump to solution
05-08-2012 09:27 AM
JoanBiediger
New Contributor III
I am new to Python programming and I am trying to see if a working directory is there and if not create it.  I keep getting the following error IndexError: list index out of range.  Not sure what I am doing wrong.
I would appreciate it if anyone can lend some assistance.

import string, sys, shutil, glob, os, arcpy  #print sys.argv  print arcpy.CheckOutExtension("Spatial") from arcpy.sa import * arcpy.env.overwriteOutput = True  #check to see if scratch directory exists: if os.path.isdir(sys.argv[1] + "/working")<> True:     arcpy.CreateArcInfoWorkspace_management(sys.argv[1], "working")      if os.path.isdir(sys.argv[1] + "/output")<> True:     arcpy.CreateArcInfoWorkspace_management(sys.argv[1], "output") arcpy.AddMessage ("Output workspace created")  arcpy.env.workspace = sys.argv[1]
Tags (2)
0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
curtvprice
MVP Esteemed Contributor
what I really want to do is see if a folder exists in the same folder as the script and if
it doesn't then create the folder.

sys.argv[0] is the path of the script. I think this is what you're trying to do:

import sys import os import arcpy  # create a scratch folder in the same folder as the script Here = os.path.dirname(sys.argv[0]) if not arcpy.exists(os.path.join(Here,"working"):     arcpy.CreateArcInfoWorkspace_management(Here, "working")

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
7 Replies
MathewCoyle
Frequent Contributor
I'd suspect, based on your code, that you only have one argument passing to your script. In that case you would want sys.argv[0]. In Python, as in most computer languages, counting starts at 0.
0 Kudos
BruceNielsen
Occasional Contributor III
I'd suspect, based on your code, that you only have one argument passing to your script. In that case you would want sys.argv[0]. In Python, as in most computer languages, counting starts at 0.