iterating through a shapefile

04-04-2012 12:01 PM
MikeKnowles
New Contributor
I'm new to geoprocessing with Python (but with a basic knowledge of Python) and have been trying to loop through a shapefile to perform analysis on each polygon in the shapefile.  I have seen references to looping through directories. etc. but haven't been able to translate them to working with polygons within a shapefile.

Thanks,
Mike

Using ArcGIS 9.3 on XP.
Tags (2)
0 Kudos
5 Replies
DarrenWiens2
MVP Honored Contributor
Check out cursors. Also, reading and writing geometries.
0 Kudos
Jasonvan_Warmerdam
New Contributor
Hi Mike,

Well if you're new to Python and arcpy it may seem confusing but I'll give you some code to work with. Shapefiles are not just a single file, so you need to use the arcpy module to run some of the commands. Here's a basic program that takes all the shapefiles in a directory and saves them to a list, it then iterates over every shapefile in the directory doing a print statement to the geoprocessor. Of course you could modify the print statement to do any type of geoprocessing. I haven't tried this code, but in theory it should work.

# Import your modules, arcpy is assuming you are running ArcGIS 10x
import arcpy, sys, os, fileinput, glob, string
from arcpy import env

# Get a directory as an argument from the user. This directory is where your shapefiles are
workingDirectory = sys.argv[1]

# This sets your workspace as the user defined working directory
env.workspace = WorkingDirectory

#This establishes the variable featureClass as a list of shapefiles using the arcpy command ListFeatureClasses
featureClass = arcpy.ListFeatureClasses()

# For loop to iterate over every shapefile in the workingDirectory that is referenced as the variable featureClass
for shapefile in featureClass:
     arcpy.AddMessage(shapefile)

0 Kudos
MikeKnowles
New Contributor