Subsurface plume volume and 3D model.

09-27-2011 11:55 AM
JaysenGaines
New Contributor II
Hi. I have a project where a client wants a 3D model of a soil contamination plume, and they want a volume measurement of the amount of contaminated soil. No one at my company has used 3D analyst before, and I have been a GIS analyst for all of 3 months so I am hoping someone out there can point me in the right direction.

We have an ArcView license with a 3D extension. The field technicians are taking a GPS reading at each sample location as well as elevation (above a known benchmark), contamination concentration readings at several depths (2', 4', 9'), and a final depth at which the contamination is no longer detectable.

I can create maps of the various contamination levels in ArcMap, but the 3D model of the plume is trickier.

My idea is to use the spatial analyst kriging tool in ArcMap to create a raster from the final depths. Then I turn that raster into a TIN in ArcScene. Then have the depth_TIN float below a TIN I created from the elevation data. At this point I assume I can use a volume tool to obtain the volume inside (or above the Depth_TIN and below the elevation_TIN) of the "plume" I created.

If anyone knows of a more accurate or efficient method, or sees a missing step please let me know.

Any and all help greatly appreciated,
Thanks
J
Tags (1)
5 Replies
JakubSisak
Occasional Contributor III
Is determining the volume of the contaminated soil the ultimate goal or do you need to visualize this? You need to build something like an isosurface or a 3D voxel grid from your input data then determine its volume which is something 3D analyst cannot do.